Lord Cavell and his “disturbing events”

Good afternoon, my dear friends, this is Doctor John Watson

 We accepted  Monpinillos’s offer. The idea of proposing you  Holmes’s puzzles looks attractive to Holmes and me. We know you are a selected group of pupils.

My friend Holmes is now trying to avoid an international scandal. He is working for one European Royal Family. I can’t tell you anything more. I must keep the secret. So you can deduce of it I will be the writer.

Here it is a little problem.

Lord Cavell looked across at Sherlock Holmes and shook his head. “It’s a mos disturbing set of events, Holmes,” he said.

Holmes agreed. “Correct me if I’m wrong, my lord,” he said, “but this items were stolen from your household on different days?”

“Without question, Holmes” Lord Cavell replied. “The cuff links were stolen before the diamond tie pin, but two days after the gold lighter. The watch chain was stolen after gold lighter but before the cigar box -which was stolen the day before the tie pin. The question is, which blighter on my staff would do such a thing?”

Holmes would undoubtedly resolve the whole affair, but the order in which the items were stolen was of prime importance in the solution.

Can you deduce what that order was?

 

Holmes’s signature

 

If you have any problems write to me. Please in English, I don’t know a word of Spanish!!!

Remember the steps you must follow

1. Translate the puzzle into Spanish.

2. Make a list of the words you did’nt know.

3. Accept the challenge and find the solution!!   (or try it at least)

 

13 Comments

  1. Hola, veo poco movimiento en estos días.¿ Se acabó la sal o es muy fuerte el fin de curso?
    Saludos

  2. DEAR MONICA.YOUR BLOG IS REALLY FANTASTIC.THIS IS A BLOG VERY ENJOY.It is worth visiting it since it has a lot of information so much of sherlock holmes’s histories as of English. It’s very didactic

  3. Your blog is very original and the things that you have about Holmes are very interesting. We hope that you put more things principally videos. The puzzle of Holmes was difficult because of it congratulations because you díd it super well!!!

  4. I can see you didn´t notice I wrote one of the best mathematical books for centuries. The Dynamics of An Asteroid a book which ascends to such rarefied heights of pure mathematics that it is said that there was no man in the scientific press capable of criticizing it.
    I hope puzzles will be at least as difficult as to make me effort whille resolving them….
    I didn´t fell in Reichenbach as you thought Holmes, Ja, Ja, Ja

  5. diamond tie pin
    cigar box
    cuff links
    watch chain
    gold lighter

    No comprender español
    viejo hombre
    (Oldtimer?)

  6. The Blog is interesting and fun . On one hand , the interesting parts are the stories and the riddles and on the other hand , the fun parts are the videos and sherlock holme´s signature jeje. And finally i hope that you put more videos.

    goodbye

  7. hello monica, for me , this blog is very interesting an very nice, because sherlock holmes is a interesting person.
    i have a any problem , who is “trying to avoid” in spanish?

    goodbye

  8. hello again,my question is: how is “trying to avoid” in spanish?. in the other question there is a mistake.

  9. hello monica, in my opinion your blog is interesting and is very beautiful. i like the videos and the photos.when i hav got any problem i will tell you about it.

    goodbye monica.

  10. Hello again,in the other question there is a mistake.My question is this:how is “trying to avoid” in spanish?

    Goodbye

  11. My opinion about mathematics and Sherlock Holmes’ puzzles relation:

    Sherlock Holmes’ books and mathematics want to find a solution to the problem. Both teach to think of logical way.
    The solution is in front of our eyes but we can’t see it because we have to order the mind.

    Usually we want to do more easy our life. If you want to realize mathematical operations easier and fastly you can to try your it practising wiht the Sherlock Holmes’ puzzles.

  12. Hello Monica:

    It is my first comentary in your blog, but it isn´t my first visit.
    Congratulations for your blog, it is very intresting.
    In realy I dind´t read any book of Sherlock Holmes but I have herad of (conozco) him and
    I want to read any book about of Holmes in Summer because, in my opinion, he is fun.
    Goodbye

  13. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work!🙂

    I’m Out! 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

